Headquartered in Asheville, North Carolina, the Southern Research Station serves 13 southern states and beyond.

Research Work Units

Our staff of scientists is organized into Research Work Units, with science technicians and other support personnel who work at various locations throughout the region: federal laboratories, universities, and experimental forests.

View Research Work Unit locations →

Experimental Forests and Ranges (EFR) Network

The SRS maintains 19 experimental forests located on or near National Forest System lands. Scientists use these as sites for their studies and demonstration projects in conjunction with the managing national forest unit.

View Experimental Forest locations →

Map of the Southern United States showing Southern Research Station research unit and experimental forest locations