About Us

Image from Research Natural Area

Questions on research within the Southern Region’s Research Natural Areas (RNA) should be directed to the Regional RNA Coordinator or the appropriate Research Station RNA Liaison.

Additionally, questions on specific, individual RNAs can be directed to the Forest RNA Point of Contact.

Please refer to the RNA Publications & Products page and individual RNA pages for links to research publications on RNAs. To add publications, please contact the Regional RNA Coordinator or appropriate Research Station RNA Liaison.

Southern Region RNA Coordinator and RNA Liaisons

Regional RNA Coordinator/Liaison
Jason Stevens
jasonstevens@fs.fed.us
414-297-3649
Southern Research Station RNA Liaison
Stephanie Laseter
slaseter@fs.fed.us
828–200-6352
International Institute of Tropical Forestry (IITF) Research Station RNA Liaison
Grizelle González
ggonzalez@fs.fed.us
787–764–7800

Forest RNA Points of Contact (POC)

National Forest POC email Phone
Chattahoochee–Oconee Jimmy Rickard jrickard@fs.fed.us 770–297–3070
NF in Florida Jason Drake jasondrake@fs.fed.us 850–523–8560
Francis Marion–Sumter Robin Mackie rmackie@fs.fed.us 803–561–4071
George Washington–Jefferson Steve Croy scroy@fs.fed.us 540–265–5153
Kitsachie Dave Moore davemoore@fs.fed.us 318–473–7016
NF in Mississippi Brian Jackson brianjackson@fs.fed.us 601–965–1605
NF in North Carolina Gary Kauffman gkauffman@fs.fed.us 828–257–4861
Ouachita Jo Ann Smith joannsmith@fs.fed.us 501–321–5250
Ozark–St Francis Jessica Hawkins jessicamhawkins@fs.fed.us 479–964–7228
Savannah River Charlie Davis cedavis@fs.fed.us 803–725–8620
NF in Alabama Arvind Bhuta arvindabhuta@fs.fed.us 334–832–4470
Cherokee – no RNAs Mark Pistrang mpistrang@fs.fed.us 423–476–9757
Daniel Boone David Taylor dtaylor02@fs.fed.us 859–745–3167
El Yunque Pedro Rios prios@fs.fed.us 787–888–5655
Land Between the Lakes – no RNAs Elizabeth Raikes eraikes@fs.fed.us 270–924–2062
NF&GL in Texas Thomas Philipps tphilipps@fs.fed.us 936–639–8514